4 miles. 39:35. Bliss.

1 Dec

You guys, I can’t even tell you how happy I am. I know that for some of you, this pace is like a walk in the park. But for me? I can’t even begin to tell you how thrilled I was with my 9:53 pace.

I really didn’t want to run tonight. I was tired, my muscles still somewhat sore from my step class mistake this weekend… but I had yesterday off, so it was time to run. I stepped on one treadmill at the gym and things felt totally off; my knees hurt and the incline felt wonky. Ugh. Time to switch. I moved to a different brand of treadmill and felt the same way. Okay, so it’s just me. Awesome start, Kera. In my head I whined and moaned for the first quarter mile or so. Then my WWJD (What Would Jillian Do) kicked in and I realized that if I keep on hating my run, it’s going to be a very long 3.75 miles to go. Zone in on what’s going on in my body, adjust my pace, don’t worry about finishing fast, just finish strong.

When the last 0.4 miles or so arrived, “Untouched” by The Veronicas started playing and I gradually kicked my speed up to 7.0. Once I hit the 4 mile mark, I slowed it on down to a walk and realized that I could totally keep going. But I shouldn’t. No no no, I have cross-training tomorrow. Don’t want to have dead legs. But I finished strong. And for me, I finished fast.

Okay totally new topic here… I’m not watching BL tonight because I know for a fact that I’ll pass out way before it’s over… so NO ONE SAY WHAT HAPPENS or I’ll be a sad panda. Ok thank you :)

7 Responses to “4 miles. 39:35. Bliss.”

  1. RunToFinish December 1, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    Agreed i’m not watching TBL tonight either!

    Way to go on a great run, it’s weird that some of my best runs are when I think i’m too tired to go

    • Brian December 2, 2009 at 7:51 am #

      Hell ya! Especially since you were feeling a little sore it still shows your getting stronger. Thats a good song to kick the last .4 to also. You’re getting over the mental hurdle of training really quick, even I have to learn a thing or two from you :)

  2. J December 2, 2009 at 9:44 am #

    I got your email – thanks!

    I didn’t see the end of BL either, hopefully I can watch the rest of it tonight! Great job on the 4 miles!

  3. Yasmin December 2, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    That is AWESOME! Seriously, great job! I bet the rocky start makes the final result feel even better (;

  4. velma (beth) December 2, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    Hello. You are my buddy for the gift exchange. If you have a second, would you send me your shirt size and address? Thanks!

  5. Lacey December 2, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    i missed the end of BL! i didn’t realize it was still going so i just turned the tv off. whoops.

    great treadmill run! lol about switching treadmills. i def have certain treadmills i don’t like to run on. way to WWJD thru it :)

    and i LOVE untouched by the Veronicas. great song !!

  6. The Vegan Anti-Hero December 3, 2009 at 6:26 am #

    WWJD! Ahhh still love it! Seriously, I wish I had that phrase at mile 24 of the marathon.

Leave a Reply

