Recipe Night: Lots o’ Potatoes

30 Nov

With the super long holiday weekend, I finally had some more time to do some cooking. I experimented with two new recipes this week, and have two more in the works. The first two I’ll share with you: Potato Cauliflower Mash and Potato Parsnip Chowder. Why so many potatoes? I could only find a 5lb bag of Yukon Golds, so I decided to run with it.

(Lots o’ text, so it’s all after the jump)

Potato Cauliflower Mash (adapted from Garlic & Chive Potato Cauliflower Mash by Coconut & Lime)

  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 2 lbs Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and cut up
  • 2 cups cauliflower florets
  • 2 tbsp dried chives
  • 3 tablespoons soft goat cheese
  • salt
  • pepper

Bring a large pot of water or stock to a boil. Add the garlic, potatoes, and cauliflower. Cook until the potatoes are fork tender, about 20 minutes. Drain. Add the goat cheese, salt and pepper. Mash until almost at the desired texture then mash in the chives.

Potato Parsnip Chowder (adapted from Potato and Root Vegetable Chowder with Bacon from Bon Appétit)

  • 3 bacon slices, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 medium leeks, thinly sliced (white and pale green parts only)
  • 1 pound parsnips, peeled, cut into 1/3-inch dice
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled, cut into 1/3-inch dice
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 1/2 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled, cut into 1/2-inch dice
  • 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 3 cups reduced-fat (1%) milk
  • 3 cups (or more) vegetable broth

Cook bacon in large pot over medium heat until crisp. Using slotted spoon, transfer bacon to paper towels. Add oil to drippings in same pot; heat over medium heat. Add leeks; sauté until tender but not brown, about 7 minutes. Add parsnips, carrots, garlic, and thyme; sauté 5 minutes. Stir in potatoes, then flour; stir 1 minute to coat. Gradually add milk and 3 cups broth; bring to boil. Reduce heat; simmer uncovered until vegetables are tender and soup thickens slightly, stirring occasionally, about 20 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Stir bacon into chowder.

Both of these came out fantastically. I was hesitant about the chowder because of how sweet parsnips can be, but the flavor is pretty balanced. I might roast them first next time to give them a softer texture that can lend to a thicker broth (the broth is a bit thin due to the low fat milk, use cream if you want a super thick chowder). I also added some more bacon to increase the savory-ness of the soup. I like it, but it needs another savory element. I’m going to have to play around with it some more.

The potato cauliflower mash is super awesome. The consistency is like a slightly lumpy mashed potato, and the goat cheese is a perfect accompaniment to the flavors of the vegetables. The original recipe called for butter, and I totally glazed over that part of the ingredient list. I’m not too worried, though. It still tastes amazing, and it’s a lot lower in calories/bad fat.

Other recipes I’ll be testing this week: Butternut Squash Apple Bake, and Pasta with Cauliflower Alfredo.

Some stuff about running…
On Saturday morning I took a step/muscle interval class at the gym and OH MY GOD MY MUSCLES. For reals, y’all. My body was so full of hate. And yet, I stepped on the treadmill yesterday. This accurately sums up that decision. I was tempted to rent a walker. Never taking that step class before a long run again (I know, I know, my body would hurt less as time goes on, but I’m going to wimp out on this and just do regular cross training okay). And now I’m going to revel in my laziness until it’s time to run my 4 miles tomorrow.

5 Responses to “Recipe Night: Lots o’ Potatoes”

  1. Lacey December 1, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

    i want to make that potato cauliflower mash!!!!!!!!! cauliflower “mashed potatoes” has been on my to do list for awhile…

    and i burst out laughing at your DOOKIE comment. too funny. hahaha. thank you for that :)

    you are lucky you have classes to take at your gym!!!! i’d like to think if my gym offered them i’d take them all the time :) wishful thinking!!! hehe.

  2. Lacey December 1, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    oh and re: the title of your post… you are going to love my friend’s guest post tomorrow. alex and andy (two friends) are doing this ridiculous challenge where they can ONLY eat potatoes and milk. who does that?! lol. so yeah. that’s what they are doing and alex is going to write about it tomorrow. and they are doing it until one of them caves. loser buys the winner a steak dinner. hah.

    • runkerarun December 1, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

      hahaha only potatoes and milk?? And the winner gets steak? Is there really a winner in this situation? Oh man that’s going to be wonderful.

      And finding a gym that offered classes was a big part of my fitness search. I was with a gym over the summer while I was still living in Boston that offered group classes, and I felt like I needed to stick with that. It’s really such a great motivator and support system.

  3. The Vegan Anti-Hero December 1, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    A walker? I would have required a wheelchair. I can run 60 miles a week but when it comes to doing anything besides running I would get beaten by the Biggest Loser contestants. Before they even stepped foot on the ranch. Label me impressed.

    • runkerarun December 1, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

      Um, I was totally channeling Jillian throughout the step class… WWJD. Holy crap that is my new mantra, thankyouverymuch. Every time I wanted to put the bodybar down, I imagined her yelling at me, and sadly enough, it helped a bit.

Leave a Reply

