Training: Day 9 of 54

22 Nov

There’s most definitely a problem with my copy of NetNewsWire… none of the running blogs in my feed have refreshed. I checked Google Reader and saw that you’ve all been so busy and I haven’t seen a word of it. I’ll catch up with all of you soon, I promise. Then I’ll give a swift backhand to NNW for acting up.

I ran my 4 miler today, and my muscles were already yelling at me within the first 0.25 miles thanks to yesterday’s EA Sports Active workout (more on that later… I have the review written, just got to proofread and post), but I knew I had to keep going. Sheesh, can’t give up after that kind of distance. Once I hit somewhere around the 2 mile mark, my legs began to tire out like woah. I didn’t feel tired anywhere but my legs. But I gave in and walked for about 10 seconds. During those 10 seconds I sort of told myself “Ummm… what are you doing?! You can’t do 4 miles? I hate to tell you, but you’ve got 9.1 more to take care of if you want to complete that race. So suck it up, adjust your pace, and go.” So I did. I have to consciously tell myself to slow down all the time, but I managed to keep a steady, conversational pace the rest of the way (which is what you’re supposed to do anyway, but shhh).

Weariness struck big time with about 0.5 miles to go. I created landmarks for myself: “Just get to the train tracks… now get to the bank… now get to the intersection…” Oh, that intersection. I realized as I approached that I was at 3.75 miles, and there was only 0.25 before I’ve completed my longest distance. Adrenaline kicked in and strongly carried me home.

The results:

  • 4.0 miles
  • 42:58 (10:44 pace)

And I’m okay with those results. I’m really proud that I did it and only stopped once for a breather. My long run next week is another 4 miles, and I don’t fear it at all. I was scared of this run… after all, bad things happened after the last two long runs. But it was okay. I was okay. I was great. And this week will be even better.

One Response to “Training: Day 9 of 54”

  1. Yasmin November 23, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    Awesome! So much of running is psychological. I do the setting markers for myself too.

Leave a Reply

