Rest, Continued

17 Nov

Taking tonight off to rest my muscles. My right calf is still tighter than it’s ever felt in my life, which is what I believe is causing the pain in my arch. I have a chiropractor appointment on Thursday, hopefully she can adjust something to alleviate the tightness.

This morning was so gorgeous… I felt like I had to go out and get in my miles for the day. But half a block in, I felt my foot cramping up. I cut down the next side street back to my house, only jogging .5 miles. I need to just accept that I need to take it easy for now… no use running through pain. I’ve started a stretching routine which I do every morning and night. There’s also a heat compress on my calf as I type.

On another note, have any of you ever tried Vibram Five Fingers? I know someone that has them, and he swears by the shoes. I don’t know what to think anymore… there’s articles on new shoes, the right type of shoes for your feet, barefoot running, etc. Sheesh. What are your thoughts on barefoot running? Is it just a fad (possibly sparked by Born to Run), or the next big thing to happen to the running community?

Leave a Reply

