I Can’t Win (also, cookies)

15 Nov

So today was my 3.5 mile run. Also, the completion of my second week of training. But the 3.5 is more important. Why? It’s officially the furthest I’ve ever run. I’ve never been able to get past that 3.1 barrier. And I did the 3.5 in 32:11. Yeahhhh. But of course, it can’t just be awesome. My right arch started acting up after the first half mile. I shrugged it off as tightness and my legs being tired. I worked all morning (standing for 5 hours, meh) and already had some soreness in my shin. I stopped for a minute at .75 miles and stretched, then did the same after finishing 2 miles. Once I finished my foot went into full cramp mode. Ugh. I can’t win. I’ve been having muscle cramps in my foot for years, and I’m guessing this is just the end result of leaving it untreated. I made a run over to the Marathon Sports near my house and picked up a Foot Rubz and The Stick. Rollin’ my foot as I type. Go away, pain. You’ve annoyed me enough. I’ve had bad heel/tendon injuries before, so I’m going to do everything I can to make sure this goes away quickly. No plantar faciitis for me, thanks.

Today was my last day at the coffeehouse and I didn’t get to bake anything. Sadface. So of course, I decided to bake something when I got home. I made some Applesauce Almond Butter cookies. The applesauce replaces butter, which makes the cookie SUPER light and very cake-like. Unfortunately, due to the light flavor of almond butter, there isn’t a ton of flavor to the cookie. I’m going to have to play around with spices. I’ll post the recipe, and if you make them and find a magical spice combination, let me know!

Applesauce Almond Butter Cookies
As adapted from Simply Recipes’ Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup applesauce, unsweetened
  • 1/2 cup almond butter (I used creamy unsalted)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

  • Cream the applesauce and sugars for 2 minutes. Mix in the almond butter and egg. Mix together the dry ingredients – flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Stir into the sugar applesauce mixture.
  • Wrap dough in plastic and refrigerate at least 3 hours. (Definitely didn’t do this step… I was too impatient)
  • Preheat oven to 375°F. Shape dough into 1 1/4 inch balls. (I used a 2 tablespoon ice cream scoop, much easier than rolling them) Place about 3 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten in crisscross pattern with a fork. Bake until light brown, 9 to 10 minutes. Cool on baking sheets for a minute; transfer to rack to cool completely.
    Makes about 2 dozen cookies.
    For chewier cookies, bake at 300°F for 15 minutes.

The end result: a super light, pretty healthy cookie. Like I said, it definitely could use a bit of oomph, but it ain’t too bad as-is.

cookie

First day of work in the morning! And a rest day for me. G’night, all… hope you had a great weekend!

2 Responses to “I Can’t Win (also, cookies)”

  1. Yasmin November 16, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    Oh man, sorry to hear about the foot. Can you ice the arch?

    Applesauce and almond butter sounds like an amazing combo! What if you used sweetened applesauce, and added some cinnamon along with some dried berries/fruits…? I may test this soon (;

    • runkerarun November 18, 2009 at 7:06 am #

      I’ve been icing and heating, stretching like woah, and going to my chiropractor tomorrow. I WILL get better ;)

      And the cookies came out really well! They’re like a go-to snack for sweets. They came out to about 95 calories per cookie, not too shabby.

Leave a Reply

