Good News, Bad News (Sprained?!)

7 Nov

Yesterday was my rest day. And what a wonderful rest day it was… I got a job offer! Yaaaay!

On a less happy note, last night I came downstairs to grab my laptop, and stubbed my little toe on an ottoman. Um, ouch. I immediately put ice on it, but it’s still super painful and bruised. It actually woke me up, and now I’m sitting here writing a blog post at 5:30am, wide awake. I’m pretty sure it’s sprained… I can move it around and everything, but I still can’t put full pressure on it without limping. So I definitely can’t run. Ugh. UGHHHHHHH. I’m going to try to work around it and use the spin bike for cardio today and the elliptical for my 3 miles tomorrow. The elliptical isn’t one of my favorite pieces of equipment, but at least it’ll prevent my foot from repeatedly pounding on the ground.

I cannot tell you how frustrating this is. Aside from the week of the race, this is the absolute LAST time I want to be injured. I’m trying to look at it this way: at least the distances are still easily manageable at this stage in my training, and I can shorten or lengthen them should I need to completely rest for a week.

In the meantime, ice and ibuprofen are my best friends. I CAN’T BELIEVE THIS.

One Response to “Good News, Bad News (Sprained?!)”

  1. Brian November 11, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    Just think about it as you getting the injury out of the way very early! No more injuries before the half please!!

Leave a Reply

