Training: Day 1 of 54

4 Nov

As I mentioned yesterday, I had a pretty busy lineup: working until 4:30, going to a reception, then going for my scheduled training run. Everything was going according to plan up until the end of the reception. I lost track of time talking to people, and didn’t leave Boston until well after 8pm. Oops. But it was fun to catch up.

At this point, the little procrastination voice in my mind kicked in… “You can just do it tomorrow. You’re tired, it’s late, and you have to be up early in the morning.” And I almost listened to it. But then, what kind of precedent would that set for the rest of my training? Oh, you’re tired? Just do it later! No thanks, I can’t fall into that trap. Not when completing this race means so much to me.

So at 9pm I stepped on that treadmill. It was one of my worst times in a while (10:23 av. over 2.5 miles), but I got it done. I was telling myself both physically and mentally that I will do what it takes to get this training done, even if it means waking up at 5am, or getting to the gym at 9pm. Slacking off is not on the agenda, thankyouverymuch. So while it was tough, I think it’s what I really needed to prove to myself that I mean business.

…and now I have to leave for work in 20 minutes. Gah!

2 Responses to “Training: Day 1 of 54”

  1. Brian November 4, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    Defeating the procrastination monster early on will pay off BIG TIME. Sure there will be times when you just want to rest, but the more times you get up and go the easier it wil get. Day 1 in the books!

  2. Yasmin November 4, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    Way to stick it out! It’s not easy, but it will pay off (:

Leave a Reply

