It’s Meant to Be

3 Nov

So today is the official start of my Half training. And I have an interview. And a reception to attend. It’s a big day.

This morning I was reading the November issue of Runners World, as I have been doing for the past few weeks. And how providential to come across this full page ad on this particular day:

halfad

Ah! It’s an ad for the Half! As cheesy as it sounds, that ad gave me a rush of adrenaline and excitement, knowing that today I start a quest towards completing 13.1 miles. It’s going to be tough, and I might (read: will probably) complain sometimes. Sometimes I may have to forgo some events to make sure I fit in my scheduled run. And I might have to start waking up at 5am to get in a few early miles. I might be tired and cranky. But I’m doing it. I want to finish those 13.1 miles. I will finish.

Take a look at my training calendar for November after the jump.

Here’s a look at my fitness schedule for the next month (click for larger):

November calendar

Yes, I take a Zumba class. I spent 13 years as a dancer, so I love any opportunity to shake my moneymaker. And I’ve never taken a step class before, but the one at my gym looks pretty intense (no old ladies in that class! And lots more guys than I’d expect…). So I’m going to give that a go this weekend and see how it works out for me. If I hate it, there’s always my trusty spin bike for cardio.

The first run is tonight. I’m really looking forward to it. My gym bag is packed and in the trunk of my car. I’m ready, Tuesday! Bring it on.

3 Responses to “It’s Meant to Be”

  1. Brian November 3, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    Well look at you all ready to go! Yes if you start running at weird hours you will get cranky, expect that. It will take a few weeks if not the first 2 months to develop a serious flow but once you hit your “stride”, as it were, you will have the runners itch!

  2. Bobby December 10, 2009 at 8:23 am #

    (looks at the bottom left corner) wait, so do you get a tiara if you do the race? cause if so, im so there with you next year.

    sorry im just catching up with all these entries. work’s been dfgshfgjklfdfsagt recently.

    glad to hear everything’s going well. we need to catch up soon.

    • runkerarun December 10, 2009 at 8:34 am #

      Hahaha no tiara, but you get a sweet medal with a castle on it when you finish :)

      And let’s grab lunch again soon!

Leave a Reply

