What do you Chew-se?

2 Nov

It’s a pun… get it? Okay, I guess I haven’t explained the pun yet. But you’ll get it soon. Then you’ll laugh. Maybe.

With some long runs planned in the future, I’ve decided to invest in some endurance products, like Shot Bloks, Sport Beans, or GU Gel. But there’s so many to choose from, how do you know which one works best? There’s a City Sports near my office, so I’m going to venture there during lunch to pick up a variety of items and try them out in my upcoming runs.

Have any of you used these products before? Do you love one more than another? Do you find gels more beneficial because you don’t need to use extra energy to chew as you run?

So do you get it now? Chew-se… like, which endurance product do you choose to chew… oh nevermind.

4 Responses to “What do you Chew-se?”

  1. Lacey November 2, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    Hi Kera! Thanks for stopping by my blog!! I too would have been turned off by in your face messages. I totally missed all of that, lol. Maybe I just wasn’t paying attention? I did see plenty of booths with sign-up sheets, etc., but they always seemed to have people to talk to and no one called me over or anything. So I just spent my time wandering from and to food :)

    Which half marathon are you running?? Good luck!! it’s a challenge to work up to but definitely rewarding. I like Gu Roctane and Clif Shot bloks. the bloks i can keep in my mouth and sort of eat/melt slowly like over a half-full mile. the gu roctane i will use if i need some serious energy and it also has caffeine and these don’t bother my system. there are so many options i recommend experimenting. ACROSS runs tho, not within a run :) i heard it is not great to mix types of gels just in case. of what, i’m not sure. upset stomach? and make sure you take water with them. i don’t have a problem “chew”ing gus or bloks. they go down really easy. just be careful not to choke on the bloks, lol. esp if you are keeping it in your mouth and not eating it right away.

  2. runkerarun November 2, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    Maybe they were frustrated that people didn’t take their flyers earlier, haha.

    I’m running Disney’s Princess Half Marathon. I don’t want my first big race to take itself too seriously ;) It has a really interesting course, going from Epcot, through Magic Kingdom, and back to Epcot.

    I just picked up a few GUs, one with caffeine, and one without. I’ve heard pros and cons to caffeine, so I’m going to try it out for myself and see what my body likes. And that’s a great idea, letting the bloks dissolve! I love the taste of them, but can’t keep smackin’ on them as I run :) Thanks for the input!

  3. The Vegan Anti-Hero November 2, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    I just left a comment so if I leave another does it mean I’m blog stalking you? Oh well. I rarely eat anything while running. I can digest apple cores and the skin of squash like a farm animal but when it comes to eating mid-run I struggle. That being said, I’m a big fan of eating dates if I feel that I need a little sugar kick. So if you’re a dried fruit fan, you can give it a shot. Or maybe I’m just cheap and prefer to save my precious cash for baked goods and not energy gels.

  4. Brian November 3, 2009 at 10:06 am #

    I’m a Gu Guy, @srubin hates it, but I like it. I will tolerate sport beans and chomps/blocks but Gu just seems to work. If it got me over the great wall of china it should help you on the mean streets of boston!

Leave a Reply

