“Resting” and Vegetarian Foods

1 Nov

Maybe it’s a cop-out, but I’m resting my body today and not running. I keep telling myself that I’m going to be hitting the gym almost every day for the next 18 weeks, so it’s okay to take today off. Maybe it is, maybe it isn’t. Rationalization is a wonderful thing, eh? I think I’m mentally a bit intimidated by the task at hand. And I’m letting myself off the hook until I absolutely have to run. As long as this mental block doesn’t carry into my training, I’ll be okay.

On a completely different note, my cousin and I went to a Vegetarian Food Fest today. I’m not a vegetarian, but I do enjoy eating vegetarian meals throughout the week. Veggies are yummy, but so is steak. So, we went in expecting lots of great food samples and lots of info on healthy eating… but from the very moment we walked in the door, we were faced with flyers with “DUNKIN DONUTS IS EVIL MAKE DUNKIN DONUTS STOP USING EGGS” all over them. I politely declined to take a flyer, and I felt like the distributor wanted to shoot lasers at me. Now, I feel I should state that I don’t have a problem with vegetarians or vegans as a whole. If you choose to not eat something in particular, then so be it. It doesn’t affect me. It’s when a moral message is pushed in my face and I’m pressured to feel like I’m an evil villain that I have a problem. It wasn’t what I had expected from the food fest, and it sort of ruined it for us. The healthy message felt lost.

All that being said, I am having a giant sweet potato for dinner. It is not a balanced meal in any way, but I cannot wait to have it. Yum!

2 Responses to ““Resting” and Vegetarian Foods”

  1. The Vegan Anti-Hero November 2, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

    You’re a terrible person for eating meat. Terrible. TOTALLY KIDDING. I’m a vegan and I personally can’t stand when other vegans attacked meat eaters. People should eat what they want to eat and chose not to eat what they don’t want to eat. And everyone else should deal with it. That may have been confusing so I’ll end with, enjoy your steak!

  2. Brian November 3, 2009 at 10:04 am #

    A food festival should be festive! Pro fod choice, yes, but no one should be pro-testing other foods, have fun with food, AND KEEP USING EGGS DUNKINS! What would i do without your egg and cheese…

Leave a Reply

