Halloween and Macabre Cakes

31 Oct

welcome

Happy Halloween! I hope you all had a great evening, whatever you chose to do. As I said before, I’m not big on Halloween. But I am big on cooking and baking. So I played with the theme of the day and made some spooky desserts. I told a 4-year-old that the Gravestone Pudding (pudding, crushed cookies for “dirt”, gummy worms, and Milano cookies as headstones) was made with dirt and mud… rather than be like YEAH AWESOME like I had expected, he went “ewwwww yuck!” I had to explain to him that I didn’t really serve him dirt. Then he was okay with it.

graves

I also made a (healthy!) spice cake with a “bloody icing.” My mom was pretty grossed out by it. I win.

macabre

Overall, it was a great night. The kids were adorable, and my neighborhood was definitely active. We had trick-or-treaters from about 4-8. Yikes.
peter and tink

That’s all I have for you for now. Working early in the morning has me going to bed earlier than my grandmother. Double yikes.

Have a good one, folks. And set those clocks back!
candles

One Response to “Halloween and Macabre Cakes”

  1. Brian November 3, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    The food looks awesome! You definitly got into the spirit of Halloween. Glad to see mom was grossed out by the blood icing, haha. Awesome photos

Leave a Reply

