Bakery Temptations

28 Oct

I work in an independent coffee shop as a part time job. One thing it’s really known for in the area is its baked goods. Every morning there are fresh muffins, croissants, scones, and sometimes cookies. So this means that not only do I have to fight off the craving to try every delicious latte on the menu… I have to fight off the desire to try every baked good in the place. Today was exceptionally difficult, as one tray of muffins was banana chocolate chip. Just look at what was left a few hours before closing:

 

Gah, so much deliciousness.

My trick to fight off the snack attack? I keep a glass of water and a cup of tea on hand all day long. I also pack a snack-sized plastic bag of cereal, nuts, or crackers which I can munch on throughout the day. I have to bring lunch, or else I’ll end up eating a wonderful, buttery croissant with ham and cheese. It’s tough, let me tell you. But it can be done.

What do you do to fight off cravings for buttery buttery goodness?

2 Responses to “Bakery Temptations”

  1. Elisabeth October 28, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    The wonderful thing about those delicious bakery items is that personally, the less I eat them, the less I crave them. Sometimes I think that they are made of crack. It’s the same thing with candy for me…I won’t eat candy for months and months, but then as soon as I have a piece, I start craving it.

    For me, if I *think* I want to eat something that isn’t in my normal line of fire, I go through a few mental quickfire questions…

    1) On a scale of 1-10, how much do I want to eat it?
    2) Have I eaten a healthy meal already within the past 2 hours (sometimes hunger alone will lead me into thinking I want something that I really don’t want)?
    3) Is there a healthier alternative that I would rather have?
    4) Can I eat this item on any given day? Usually if it’s not something out of the ordinary, I find that I’d rather wait for something that is.
    5) Can I sit down and eat this, or am I going to have to do a grab-stand-stuff number? If this is the case, I always skip it.

  2. Brian October 29, 2009 at 12:58 pm #

    Mouth is watering, thanks! ugh… :)

Leave a Reply

