Shifter’s 5K: a new PR

2 Apr

alt title: “lol wut”

I’ll start by saying that I had absolutely no desire to run this race today. I wasn’t bummed out or anything, I just wasn’t in the mood. But I had already signed up for it. And if I didn’t complete it, I might not get my race series jacket at the end of the series. So off I go.

I make the drive out to the race location, realizing that I have no knowledge of the course. The site has no race map, so I have no freakin’ clue how to plan my pace for elevation. I feel hungry so I eat a whole bagel. Someone at the start tells me it’s “rolling hills.” wheeeee. There’s also no actual start line, so all ~250 of us are standing around like “um wtf is goin on” when a guy starts talking without a megaphone and it’s cold and I’m ready to just run the thing already. Apparently he shouts “go” and we’re off.

mile 1: 9:27

Oh whee! The very first thing we do is run uphill. Meh, I’m good at hill surges so I already pick off a few people without giving it too much effort. Slight downhill. I check out my pace; I’m running high 8/low 9 and feeling a little *too* good. Brain still giving no damns. I chuckle to myself at how absurd it would be to PR in a race I had no knowledge of and didn’t care about.

mile 2: 9:25

About 1.25 in I start getting a side cramp. Maybe that full bagel was a bad idea. Shut up and keep running, it’ll go away. Oh look, there are the runners in the lead going the other way. The route must be an out-and-back. Sweet, almost at the turnaround point. Pass a few people downhill and on another uphill surge. Hell yeah, my cramp is gone. What’s my pace? Huh, looks good and I still feel pretty comfortable. Whatevs, just gonna run.

mile 3: 8:58

Alright at this point, might as well just go for it. Can I beat 28? Nah. Maybe I can beat 29, though. We ran downhill on the out earlier, so the end of this will be uphill with a huge downhill at the end. Just surge already. Pick off a few more people; some are walking at the top of the hill. Almost there. Downhill, pass a few more. Where the hell is the finish line going to be? A clock and some cones; there it is. Might as well sprint finish!

Time: 28:33

lol wut.

I just PRed by 45 seconds in a race I totally did not want to run. Sweet deal, I’ll take it.

6 Responses to “Shifter’s 5K: a new PR”

  1. orange April 2, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Awesome! Congratulations on your seemingly effortless PR :)
    (also thank you for being possibly the first running blog to mention a side stitch; I feel like I’m the only one who ever gets them…)

    • Kera April 2, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

      Thanks! I think I got the PR because I wasn’t as wrapped up in the details of the course, the hills, trying to beat a certain time, etc. I literally just ran and didn’t think about much else.

      And stitches! I get them a whole bunch. I used to use them as an excuse to walk, but I know from some experience now that slightly slowing the pace and deep breaths will help get rid of them :)

  2. Brian April 4, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    Congrats Murph!!

    • onelittlejill April 4, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      I thought it said “Shitters” 5k. I laughed out loud, seriously. Haha- great job!

      • Kera April 4, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

        hahahaha amazing.

        Thanks, guys :)

  3. swimmykimy April 8, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Nice job, Kera!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

