Couch to 5K to 10K to 13.1

27 Oct

Think back to middle school, and having to run the mile in gym once or twice a year. Remember that group of “slow” kids? Yeah, I was definitely there. I hated everything there was about running. I even got a note to sit out of pretty much all four years of gym in high school. Don’t get me wrong, I was active. I was a dancer, so I felt there was no need for me to run. Every now and then I’d buy a summer gym membership, do some running, get frustrated, and quit.

In the summer of 2007, I decided to take running seriously… or so I thought. I didn’t know how to run. I would just GO and be burnt out after five minutes. I remember being thrilled that I had run half a mile without stopping. Seriously. So guess what? I stopped again. It wasn’t until my friend Brian started telling me about how enthusiastic he had become about running that I once again took a serious look at it. I talked to him and started reading other websites and blogs and got some great tips on how to train yourself to become a better runner. The c25k plan seemed like a shining beacon of hope to my sad excuse of an athletic past. I began the program in November 2008, and in February completed my first-ever race: The Super Sunday 5K in Boston.

Now, I’m training for a whole new journey. On March 7, 2010, I will participate in Disney’s Princess Half Marathon. My training begins on Tuesday, and lasts a full 18 weeks. I’d like to do a 10K in January if I can find one close by.

I never thought I’d run three miles, let alone 13.1. I went from a literal couch potato to someone that is passionate about pushing herself to new limits. If I can do it, you can too.

2 Responses to “Couch to 5K to 10K to 13.1”

  1. The Vegan Anti-Hero October 28, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    Yay for new runners! I started off in a similar way and now I’m a running addict. I’d warn you to be careful but once you get up to 50 miles a week you can justify eating those bakery temptations you mentioned in your other post. Good luck with the half marathon!

  2. Brian October 29, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

    So pumped! Glad I could be of some assistance to get you back on the road! Also, you better wear a tierra during the race :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

